“ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩” – our interactive composition

A waking dream, a mysterious garden, a walk-through score – “ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩” is all of these things. Together with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, composer Mark Barden and visual artist Julian Bonequi have created a unique VR application in which eye and ear are on equal footing.

Due to the lockdown, we were only able to present “ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩” to a few people at the Konzerthaus. With “VR on Tour” we then gave our audience the chance to try out “ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩” at home. Those

The Konzerthaus Berlin has pursued the development of innovative mediation concepts for classical music in the digital space since 2016 with projects such as our digital exhibition and Konzerthaus app. During the 2020/21 anniversary season celebrating the 200th anniversary of Schinkel’s building on Gendarmenmarkt, the field of cooperation has been expanded to include composer Mark Barden and visual artist Julian Bonequi. In collaboration with the HTW Berlin – University of Applied Sciences, the interactive environment ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩ – Environments was created. In a fantastic cosmos of virtual plant creatures, flora and sounds, visitors will experience contemporary music in a visionary, individually experiential application at the interfaces of new music, visual art and virtual reality.

A dialogic artistic process is intended to transcend the boundaries of the disciplines – with an open outcome. Over 200 3D objects and some 500 audio tracks have been integrated into the virtual world, in which visitors can move about with the help of virtual reality glasses. As they interact with the plants and creatures, new sounds and tones are created, so that every action has a reaction and each visit is different from the next.

The sounds were recorded by the Konzerthausorchester Berlin under the direction of composer Mark Barden.

  • Short biography Mark Barden

    Mark Barden, born in Cleveland, Ohio in the USA, lives in Berlin and composes concert music as well as sound installations with and without live musicians. He studied composition in Berlin and Freiburg with Rebecca Saunders, Mathias Spahlinger and Jörg Widmann and earned his doctorate at Goldsmiths College in London. Since the current winter semester, he has held a professorship in composition at the Detmold University of Music.

  • Short biography Julian Bonequi

    Julian Bonequi, born in Mexico, is a hybrid artist and transmedia producer working with sound immersion and mixed reality. He is the founder of Audition Records (Berlin-Mexico 2010) and has worked as a guest curator with Salon Bruit Berlin, Akouphène Festival of Geneva, Ex Teresa Arte Actual Museum and CCDRadio at the Centre for Digital Culture in Mexico. He teaches in Mexico City, Barcelona and Valencia, among other places, and gives workshops in 3D sound spatialization and mixed reality.

Events

Experience the interactive VR composition live

 

New dates will be announced.

Fotos: Markus Werner

„ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ (Umwelten) ist in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem EFRE-geförderten Projekt APOLLO der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin entstanden und wurde gefördert durch „experimente#digital“ – eine Kulturinitiative der Aventis Foundation.

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Redirect

For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.

Cancel

„ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ – unsere interaktive Komposition

Ein Wachtraum, ein geheimnisvoller Garten, eine begehbare Partitur – „ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ ist all das. Komponist Mark Barden und Visual Artist Julian Bonequi haben zusammen mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin eine einzigartige VR-Anwendung geschaffen, in der Auge und Ohr gleichberechtigt sind.

Wegen der pandemiebedingten Schließung konnten wir „ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ bei uns im Konzerthaus nur wenigen Menschen präsentieren. Mit „VR on Tour“ haben wir dann unserem Publikum eine Möglichkeit gegeben, „ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ in den eigenen vier Wänden auszuprobieren. Interessierte Berliner*innen bekamen die Box mit der VR-Brille für drei Tage nach Hause und konnten dort in die virtuelle Welt eintauchen.

Falls wir diese Aktion aufgrund der sehr positiven Reaktionen noch einmal aufnehmen, werden wir es hier bekannt geben. 

Die Entwicklung innovativer Vermittlungskonzepte für klassische Musik im digitalen Raum wird im Konzerthaus Berlin seit 2016 mit Projekten wie der digitalen Ausstellung und der Konzerthaus-App verfolgt. In der Jubiläumssaison 2020/21, die das 200-jährige Bestehen des Schinkel-Baus am Gendarmenmarkt feiert, erweiterte sich das Kooperationsfeld um Komponist Mark Barden und Visual Artist Julian Bonequi. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (HTW) entstand die interaktive Umgebung ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩ – Umwelten. In einem fantastischen Kosmos aus virtuellen Pflanzenwesen, Gewächsen und Klängen erleben Besucher*innen zeitgenössische Musik in einer experimentellen, individuell erfahrbaren Anwendung an den Schnittstellen von Neue Musik, visueller Kunst und Virtual Reality.

Ein dialogischer künstlerischer Prozess soll die Grenzen der Disziplinen überschreiten – mit offenem Ausgang. Über 200 3D-Objekte und rund 500 Tonspuren sind in die virtuelle Welt eingebunden, in der sich die Besucher*innen mit Hilfe einer Virtual-Reality-Brille bewegen können. In der Interaktion mit den Gewächsen und Kreaturen entstehen neue Klänge und Töne, sodass keine Aktion ohne Reaktion bleibt und sich jeder Besuch vom nächsten unterscheidet.

Die Klänge wurden vom Konzerthausorchester Berlin unter Leitung  des Komponisten Mark Barden aufgenommen.

  • Kurzbiografie Mark Barden

    Mark Barden, geboren in Cleveland/Ohio in den USA, lebt in Berlin und komponiert Konzertmusik sowie Klanginstallationen mit und ohne Live-Musiker. Er studierte Komposition in Berlin und Freiburg bei Rebecca Saunders, Mathias Spahlinger und Jörg Widmann und promovierte in diesem Fach am Goldsmiths College in London. Seit dem laufenden Wintersemester  hat er eine Professur für Komposition an der Musikhochschule Detmold inne.

  • Kurzbiografie Julian Bonequi

    Julian Bonequi, geboren in Mexiko, ist ein Hybridkünstler und Transmedia Producer, der mit Klangimmersion und Mixed Reality arbeitet. Er ist Gründer von Audition Records (Berlin-Mexico 2010) und hat als Gastkurator mit Salon Bruit Berlin, Akouphène Festival of Geneva, Ex Teresa Arte Actual Museum und CCDRadio am Zentrum für Digitalkultur in Mexiko zusammengearbeitet. Er lehrt unter anderem in Mexico City, Barcelona und Valencia und gibt Workshops in 3D Sound Spatialization und Mixed Reality.

Termine

Erleben Sie die interaktive VR-Komposition live

Neue Termine werden bekannt gegeben.

Fotos: Markus Werner

„ˈʊmˌvɛltn̩“ (Umwelten) ist in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem EFRE-geförderten Projekt APOLLO der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin entstanden und wurde gefördert durch „experimente#digital“ – eine Kulturinitiative der Aventis Foundation.

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Weiterleitung

Für diese Veranstaltung erhalten Sie Tickets nicht über unseren Webshop. Sie werden daher auf eine externe Seite des Veranstalters weitergeleitet. Falls Sie Buchungen auf konzerthaus.de nicht abgeschlossen haben, verfallen diese nach 20 Minuten.

Abbrechen