Kammermusik des Konzerthausorchesters

mit dem Konzerthaus Quartett Berlin und Elisabeth Leonskaja
Konzerthaus Quartett Berlin Sayako Kusaka Violin Johannes Jahnel Violin Amalia Aubert Viola Felix Nickel Cello
Elisabeth Leonskaja Piano
Hugo Wolf „Italienische Serenade“ für Streichquartett G-Dur Giuseppe Verdi Streichquartett e-Moll Pause Robert Schumann Klavierquintett Es-Dur op. 44

Chamber music, the artistic exchange with instrumental partners is both a need and a joy for Elisabeth Leonskaja. Her recordings with the Alban Berg Quartet and the Borodin Quartet are testimony to this. Together with the Konzerthaus Quartett Berlin, she performs Schumann's Piano Quintet. Composed in Leipzig in the autumn of 1842, Schumann in a sense founded the genre for piano and four string instruments with this work and immediately crowned it with a composition that soon served as a model for masters such as Brahms or Dvořák. In the first part of the concert, the violins, viola and cello take a trip to Naples, where Verdi wrote his string quartet in March 1873 - during an unscheduled break from rehearsals for „Aida“ - as a distraction. And on the return journey, they take Hugo Wolf's „Italian Serenade“ from 1887 with them from Vienna: a serenade inspired by the south and love.

  • Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.