Jan Westermann

Principal Percussion
  • born in Munich
  • Member of the orchestra since 2019

Jan Westermann studied in Munich with Franz Bach, Peter Sadlo and Arnold F. Riedhammer. He was a scholarship holder at the Kurt Sanderling Academy of the Konzerthausorchester. Before joining the Konzerthausorchester, he gained experience in renowned orchestras throughout Germany. He has performed with the percussion ensemble Sadlo and Friends and has played in the Konzerthaus series Hope@9PM and with the Horenstein Ensemble. Jan Westermann’s personal interest is the delightful fusion of percussion and electronics. He develops individualised programmes for clubs and other venues.

 

What is particularly appealing to you about being a percussionist?

As a percussionist, you use an unbelievably extensive and very diverse set of instruments, which gives you an enormous stylistic spectrum. The palette ranges from noise-intensive instruments to classical membrane instruments like the snare drum to melodic instruments like the xylophone, marimba and vibraphone, for which there is also a rich solo and chamber music repertoire. In the orchestra, percussion is not used as consistently as other instruments – depending on the era – but it is often used for incisive, significant passages of a work.

Which composer particularly inspires you?

A small selection of my favourites: Bach, Brahms, Mahler, Ravel, Debussy, Shostakovich and Steve Reich.

Redirect

For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.

Cancel

Jan Westermann

Solo-Schlagzeug
  • geboren in München
  • Orchestermitglied seit 2019

Jan Westermann hat in München bei Franz Bach, Peter Sadlo und Arnold F. Riedhammer studiert. Er war Stipendiat der Kurt-Sanderling-Akademie des Konzerthausorchesters. Vor seinem Eintritt ins Konzerthausorchester sammelte er Erfahrungen in renommierten Orchestern in ganz Deutschland. Er ist mit dem Schlagzeugensemble Sadlo and Friends aufgetreten und hat in der Konzerthaus-Reihe Hope@9PM sowie mit dem Horenstein Ensemble musiziert. Jan Westermanns persönliches Interesse gilt der reizvollen Verbindung von Percussion und Elektronik. Für Clubs und andere Orte entwickelt er individuell passende Programme.

 

Was ist für Dich besonders reizvoll daran, Schlagzeuger zu sein?

Als Schlagzeuger hat man ein unglaublich umfangreiches, sehr vielfältiges Instrumentarium und dadurch auch eine enorme stilistische Bandbreite. Die Palette reicht von rein geräuschhaften Instrumenten über die klassischen Fellinstrumente wie der Kleinen Trommel bis zu Melodieinstrumenten wie Xylophon, Marimba und Vibraphon, für die mittlerweile auch ein reiches Solo- und Kammermusikrepertoire existiert. Im Orchester kommt das Schlagzeug zwar – je nach Epoche – nicht so durchgängig wie die anderen Instrumente zum Einsatz, dafür aber häufig an einschneidenden, bedeutenden Stellen eines Werks.

Welche*r Komponist*in inspiriert Dich besonders?

Eine kleine Auswahl meiner Favoriten: Bach, Brahms, Mahler, Ravel, Debussy, Schostakowitsch und Steve Reich.

Weiterleitung

Für diese Veranstaltung erhalten Sie Tickets nicht über unseren Webshop. Sie werden daher auf eine externe Seite des Veranstalters weitergeleitet. Falls Sie Buchungen auf konzerthaus.de nicht abgeschlossen haben, verfallen diese nach 20 Minuten.

Abbrechen