Joana Mallwitz to be Chief Conductor

From the 2023/24 season, Joana Mallwitz will head the Konzerthausorchester Berlin as Chief Conductor and Artistic Director for the next five seasons.

In the 2020/21 season, Joana Mallwitz and the Konzerthausorchester already developed two concert projects that were successfully streamed and broadcast in collaboration with ARTE and rbb.

“I am very honoured to come to the Konzerthaus as Chief Conductor and am greatly looking forward to working with the Konzerthausorchester, whose musicians I have had the opportunity to get to know over two wonderful projects as modern-thinking, musically joyful, explorative and extremely approachable personalities. Coupled with the exciting and inspiring history of the venue, the beauty of the orchestral sound and the wonderful team under General Director Sebastian Nordmann, one couldn’t wish for better prerequisites as a conductor,” says Joana Mallwitz, describing her motives for joining the Konzerthaus Berlin.

“There is an incredible power and dynamism in Joana Mallwitz’s conducting. She already casts a spell during concentrated rehearsals. In talking to her about the future of classical music, her great dedication and enthusiasm for music education quickly made her the candidate of choice. I am very happy that she will be joining us in Berlin,” comments General Director Sebastian Nordmann.

Joana Mallwitz

Biografie Joana Mallwitz

At the age of 27, Joana Mallwitz was already General Music Director in Erfurt, and since the 2018/19 season the native of Hildesheim has held this position in Nuremberg. The magazine "Opernwelt" voted her "Conductor of the Year" in 2019. At the Salzburger Festspiele 2020, she made an acclaimed debut with Mozart's "Così fan tutte".

  • Biography long

    At the latest since her acclaimed debut with Mozart’s “Così fan tutte” at the 2020 Salzburg Festival, Joana Mallwitz has been one of the outstanding conductors of her generation. In the 100-year history of the festival, she was the first woman to be entrusted with a new production and an entire series of performances. Since the 2018/19 season, Joana Mallwitz, then 33 years old, has been working as General Music Director at the Nuremberg State Theatre and was awarded “Conductor of the Year” in the autumn of 2019.

    As a portrait artist of the Wiener Musikverein, she will take the podium with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and the RSO Vienna during the 2021/22 season; further debuts are planned with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre National de France and at the Semperoper Dresden with a new production of “Rusalka”. In recent years she has appeared at the Bavarian State Opera (“Eugene Onegin” and “L’elisir d’amore”), the Frankfurt Opera (“Salome” and “The Merry Widow”), the Royal Danish Opera (“The Flying Dutchman” and “Madama Butterfly”), the Norwegian National Opera Oslo (“Der Rosenkavalier”) and the Zürich Opera House (“Macbeth”). Concert engagements have taken her to the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the HR and SWR Symphony Orchestras, the Philharmonia Orchestra London, the Munich Philharmonic, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra.

    After her longstanding engagement as Music Director at the Theater Heidelberg, Mallwitz took up her first conducting post at the Theater Erfurt in the 2014/2015 season as Europe’s youngest General Music Director. There she established the Philharmonic Orchestra’s Orchestra Academy and founded the composer-in-residence programme known as “Erfurt’s New Notes”.

    Her “Expedition Concerts”, also conceived during this time, have since become a resounding success at her main venue, the Nuremberg State Theatre, and as an online format. After her debut in Nuremberg with productions of Prokofiev’s “War and Peace” and Wagner’s “Lohengrin”, which received national attention, Joana Mallwitz will rehearse new productions of “Pelléas et Mélisande” and “Der Rosenkavalier” there during the coming season.

    Born in Hildesheim, Mallwitz studied conducting with Martin Brauß and Eiji Oue and piano with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling and Bernd Goetzke at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media.

Joana Mallwitz' Capital Debut

Watch the Berlin debut of Joana Mallwitz and Konzerthausorchester Berlin online here on and in the ARD-Mediathek. On the programme is Franz Schubert's last, his "Great" Symphony in C major D 944.

It was streamed live on the rbbKultur and Konzerthaus Berlin websites in cooperation with rbb on 28.11.2020. The concert was also broadcast live on the radio at rbbKultur and on rbb television on 29.11.2020.


Concert introduction with Joana Mallwitz


Joana Mallwitz shares with the Konzerthaus Berlin the concern to bring classical music closer to the audience through different formats and on different channels. Under the title "Reingehört!" ("Listen in!"), she has personally designed the concert introduction and, together with the musicians of the Konzerthausorchester, shows you the exciting details as well as the great lines of Schubert's last symphony.

Joana Mallwitz with Tchaikovsky

at ARTE Concert

In March 2021, conductor Joana Mallwitz took the podium at the Konzerthausorchester Berlin for the second time. On the programme: Tchaikovsky's sixth symphony, the "Pathétique", and Mozart's overture to the "Magic Flute".

The livestream was broadcast on ARTE Concert and

Don't want to miss one of our concerts?

Sign up for our newsletter and stay up to date!

sign up now


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.