Conductors of the Konzerthausorchester

Joana Mallwitz

Principal conductor

Joana Mallwitz studied conducting with Martin Brauß and Eiji Oue and piano with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling and Bernd Goetzke at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover.

After several years as Kapellmeister at the Theater Heidelberg, she took up her first directorship at the Theater Erfurt in the 2014/2015 season as Europe's youngest General Music Director at the age of 27. From 2018 General Music Director at the Staatstheater Nuremberg, Joana Mallwitz was awarded "Conductor of the Year" for 2019.

Since her acclaimed debut at the Salzburg Festival in 2020 with Mozart's "Cosi fan tutte", Joana Mallwitz has been one of the outstanding conductors of her generation. From the 2023/24 season, she will be chief conductor and artistic director of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin.

Christoph Eschenbach

Christoph Eschenbach began his international musical career as a pianist. Since 1972, he has also conducted the world’s most renowned orchestras and been a guest at the most important opera venues. He has served as musical and artistic director of the Tonhalle Society Zurich and as musical director of the Houston Symphony Orchestra, NDR Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris and the Philadelphia Orchestra. He has also headed the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington. His versatility and innovative spirit have not only earned him worldwide recognition as a conductor, artistic partner and active promoter of young talent, but also numerous top awards.From 2019 to 2023, he was principal conductor of the Konzerthausorchester.

Iván Fischer

Honorary Conductor

The Hungarian Iván Fischer is one of the world’s most visionary and successful orchestra conductors. In 1983 he founded the Budapest Festival Orchestra in his homeland, which he still heads today as musical director. From 2012 to 2018, he was principal conductor of the Konzerthausorchester. During this period, he saw many exciting concepts through to fruition, including surprise and request concerts, composer marathons and the innovative series “Mittendrin – Right in the Middle” at the Konzerthaus. From the 2018/19 season, he will continue his close collaboration with the Konzerthausorchester as its honorary conductor.

Michael Gielen †

Ehrengastdirigent und Ehrenmitglied

Kurt Sanderling †

Ehrendirigent und Ehrenmitglied

Eliahu Inbal


Eliahu Inbal


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.