Vogler Quartett

Werke von Strauss, Sciarrino und Schönberg
Vogler Quartett Andra Darzins Viola Lukas Fels Cello
Richard Strauss Streichsextett aus der Oper „Capriccio“ Salvatore Sciarrino Streichsextett Pause Arnold Schönberg „Verklärte Nacht“ für Streichsextett op. 4

Four becomes six: The Vogler Quartet has doubled the violas and cellos to form a sextet for this concert. The sonority and part-writing possibilities of such an instrumentation already inspired Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Dvořák in the 19th century. Arnold Schönberg created one of the most famous works for the string sextet in 1899 with “Verklärte Nacht”, later celebrated as an intoxicating expression of the fin-de-siècle era. But before falling into the relationship tragedy reflected in this work, which was based on a poem by Richard Dehmel, you can hear the Voglers performing two other works: Richard Strauss’ sextet from his allegorical opera “Capriccio”, a bow to the late 18th century and the “erudite-gallant antagonism between word and sound on the opera stage” of that epoch. Plus, a rarely heard piece by the Italian Salvatore Sciarrino (*1947), whose work explores “overtones, the sound and colour of tones and silence”.

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.