Orgelkonzert zur Walpurgisnacht

mit Iveta Apkalna (Organistin in Residence) und Max Hopp (Sprecher)
Iveta Apkalna Organ Max Hopp Narrator
Petr Eben „Faust“ - Neun Sätze für Orgel aus der Bühnenmusik zu Goethes „Faust“ für Orgel und Sprecher

Petr Eben composed a nine-movement suite from his incidental music to Goethe’s “Faust” for the Vienna Burgtheater (1976), and three years later, arranged the music for a solo organ. Through the way it is set to music, crucial scenes of the tragedy are connected and newly interlinked in a compelling cyclical context. The treatment of the organ is curious, appearing here not only in all its sonic dignity, but also as its own distorted image, as a barrel organ or even an orchestrion. In between, Max Hopp reads excerpts from “Faust” to accompany each of the ensuing movements.

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.