Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Yutaka Sado

mit Iveta Apkalna (Organistin in Residence)
Konzerthausorchester Berlin Yutaka Sado Conductor Iveta Apkalna Organ
John Adams „The Chairman Dances“ - Foxtrott für Orchester Aaron Copland Sinfonie für Orgel und Orchester Pause Antonín Dvořák Sinfonie Nr. 9 e-Moll op. 95 („Aus der Neuen Welt“)

Mao Zedong and his lover Jiang Qing doing the foxtrot: This image transfixed John Adams while working on his opera “Nixon in China”. So he captured it in an orchestral piece, which the Japanese conductor Yutaka Sado will perform with the Konzerthausorchester. Organist Iveta Apkalna, soloist in Aaron Copland’s jazzy, modern Symphony for Organ and Orchestra from 1924, has already been with us for three seasons as “Organist in Residence”.

Antonín Dvořák’s Ninth, also known as “From the New World”, is a real classical hit whose slow movement is introduced so heartrendingly by the English horn. The Bohemian composer wrote it during a long stay in the USA. Its premiere in Carnegie Hall in 1893 brought the work enormous success, which has never diminished.

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.