Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Pablo Heras-Casado

mit Renaud Capuçon
Konzerthausorchester Berlin Pablo Heras-Casado Conductor Renaud Capuçon Violin
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy „Das Märchen von der schönen Melusine“ - Konzertouvertüre F-Dur op. 32 Max Bruch Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 g-Moll op. 26 Pause Robert Schumann Sinfonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur op. 97 („Rheinische“)

Sometimes a work can be a little too successful: at some point Max Bruch grew tired of his first Violin Concerto (1866/68), as he wrote on various occasions. After all, he had composed other works, including two more concertos for violin!

With all due sympathy for the composer who felt misunderstood, it is fortunate that he composed this concerto. It has everything we love about great Romantic violin concertos – wonderful melodies with catchy, virtuoso passages for the solo violin, a skilfully engaged orchestra and, last but not least, a pinch of weltschmerz. All this comes into its own when played by an outstanding violinist like Renaud Capuçon.

 Pablo Heras-Casado and the Konzerthausorchester Berlin remain in the 19th century for the rest of the programme, with Felix Mendelssohn’s overture to the tragic and beautiful mermaid Melusine from 1833 and the famous “Rhenish” by Robert Schumann, which premiered in February 1851.

  • Präsentiert von

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.