Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Elim Chan

mit Francesco Piemontesi
Konzerthausorchester Berlin Elim Chan Conductor Francesco Piemontesi Piano
Hector Berlioz „Le Corsaire“ - Ouvertüre op. 21 Robert Schumann Konzert für Klavier und Orchester a-Moll op. 54 Pause Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow „Scheherazade“ - Sinfonische Suite op. 35

Hong Kong-born conductor Elim Chan heads the Konzerthausorchester Berlin with three Romantic audience favourites. Hector Berlioz was a fan of the eccentric poet Lord Byron and renamed an overture in honour of his poem “Le Corsaire”. For Robert Schumann’s only piano concerto, the Swiss Francesco Piemontesi takes his seat at the piano. Some of Schumann’s colleagues, including Franz Liszt, did not take a liking to it, but audiences loved this first important Romantic piano concerto from the very start – something that has not changed over time.

To wrap things up, the famous “Scheherazade Suite” by Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov can be heard. The colourful instrumentation ensures that all the musicians come to the fore with wonderful passages – from the delicate and flowery tones of the fanciful princess by the principal violin to cello cantilenas and a melancholy solo bassoon to powerful brass interjections. But apart from the names of the movements, populated by Sinbad, Prince Kalandar, a pair of lovers, a feast and a shipwreck, Rimsky-Korsakov simply wanted “to steer the listener’s imagination towards where my own imagination had gone while composing. Flushing out the details is ultimately left to the imaginative power and mood of each individual listener.”

Konzerthaus card

Join now!

My Konzerthaus simply offers you more! Become a member for free and you can save or share your personal watch list, for example.

Learn more


For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.