For secondary schools

Please be aware that most of these programmes are in German.

Rehearsal visits

The Konzerthaus Berlin invites students from secondary schools, educational institutions and student groups to attend an orchestral rehearsal. In the process, they will become acquainted with the workday of a symphony orchestra. If possible, the young adults will have the opportunity to talk with the orchestra musicians following the rehearsal. Upon request, we would be pleased to send teachers the programme booklet for preparation purposes 14 days before the respective rehearsal.

Rehearsal visits are free of charge, application is required.

Dates

Start at 09:50am

Thursday 09.11.2017, Thursday 15.02.2018, Thursday12.04.2018, Thursday 19.04.2018, Friday 27.04.2018

Application

Please send us a written application indicating the name of the school, number of pupils and contact person to: schule-kita@konzerthaus.de

Open your Ears - Neue Musik für junge Leute

“Cadavre exquis” – everyone has tried this playful method developed by the Surrealists. A drawing is begun with the head, then folded, the next person draws the torso and so on until a figure is created. For this year’s Open Your Ears project, we have transferred this principle to music. The resulting melodrama in five parts for concert hall and radio will be a complete surprise on the day of the premiere – and not only for the audience.

Courses and school groups that would like to attend the performance will be given an introduction to the project by a team of music educators after pre-arranging a date with their school.

Dates

Application

Please send us a written application indicating the name of the school, number of pupils and contact person to: open.your.ears@konzerthaus.de

Across the border

This concert series hopes to take younger audiences on musical explorations that intentionally cross boundaries between classical music, jazz and other musical genres. The presentation and direct discussion with the audience and performers provide fascinating insights into artistic methods, interpretative views and the history of music.

Dates

Application

Please send us a written application indicating the name of the school, number of pupils and contact person to: across.the.border@konzerthaus.de

East West Street: A song of Good & Evil

After the end of World War II, lawyers Hersch Lauterpacht and Raphael Lemkin became advisers to the Allies on sentencing the most brutal Nazi criminals. Nazi atrocities, it was felt, should not remain unpunished. At the end of 1945, the Nuremberg trials created the basis for a criminal offense in the modern sense – beginning with laws that penalise crimes against humanity or genocide. A milestone in legal history, the 70th anniversary of which was honoured this decade. On this occasion, the human rights lawyer Philippe Sands wrote a book called “A Song of Good and Evil”, in which the fates of Lauterpacht and Lemkin are closely intertwined with the life of a third main character. The defendant Hans Frank was Hitler’s personal lawyer and would later gained infamy as the “Butcher of Poland”. In addition to their profession and personal life stories, the three men also shared a passion for the same music. “A Song of Good and Evil” shines light on a major legal issue with the help of words, images and the music of Bach, Beethoven, Rachmaninoff, Paul Misraki and Leonard Cohen. Sands’ award-winning book in English will be published this year in the German translation.

Date

February 13th, 11.00 am

Application

Please send us a written application indicating the name of the school, number of pupils and contact person to: schule-kita@konzerthaus.de

Für Oberstufen

Please be aware that most of these programmes are in German.

Probenbesuche

Das Konzerthaus Berlin lädt Schüler der Oberstufe, aus Lehreinrichtungen und Studentengruppen ein, eine Orchesterprobe zu besuchen und dabei den Arbeitsalltag eines Sinfonieorchesters kennenzulernen. Nach Möglichkeit erhalten die jungen Erwachsenen die Gelegenheit, im Anschluss an die Probe mit den Musikern unseres Orchesters ins Gespräch zu kommen. Gerne übersenden wir den Lehrern auf Nachfrage 14 Tage vor dem jeweiligen Probentermin die Programmhefttexte zur Vorbereitung.

Die Probenbesuche sind kostenfrei; vorherige Anmeldung erforderlich.

Termine

Beginn jeweils um 09.50 Uhr

Donnerstag 09.11.2017, Donnerstag 15.02.2018, Donnerstag 12.04.2018, Donnerstag 19.04.2018, Freitag 27.04.2018

Anmeldung

Mit den Angaben Schulname, Schüleranzahl und Ansprechpartner

per Mail an: schule-kita@konzerthaus.de

oder postalisch an:
Konzerthaus Berlin
Bereich Junior
Stichwort „Probenbesuch“
10106 Berlin

Open your Ears - Neue Musik für junge Leute

„Cadavre Exquis“ – diese im Surrealismus entwickelte spielerische Methode hat bestimmt jeder schon einmal ausprobiert: Eine Zeichnung wird mit dem Kopf begonnen, umgefaltet, der nächste malt den Oberkörper, eine Figur entsteht. Für das diesjährige Open your ears-Projekt wird dieses Prinzip auf Musik übertragen. Das daraus entstehende Melodram in fünf Teilen für Konzertsaal und Radio ist also am Tag der Uraufführung nicht nur für das Publikum eine Überraschung.

Kurse und Schülergruppen, welche die Aufführung besuchen möchten, erhalten nach individueller Terminabsprache in ihrer Schule eine Einführung in das Projekt durch ein musikpädagogisches Team.

Termine

Anmeldung

Anmeldungen für Lehrer bzw. Schülergruppen 

per Mail an: open.your.ears@konzerthaus.de

oder schriftlich an:
Konzerthaus Berlin
Bereich Junior/Stichwort „Open your ears“
10106 Berlin

Across the border

Diese Konzertreihe möchte das jugendliche Publikum auf musikalische Erkundungen mitnehmen, bei denen bewusst Grenzen zwischen Klassik, Jazz und anderen musikalischen Genres überschritten werden. Dabei geben die Moderation und das direkte Nachgespräch mit Publikum und Interpreten spannende Einblicke in künstlerische Arbeitsweisen, interpretatorische Ansichten und musikgeschichtliche Hintergründe.

Kurse und Schülergruppen, welche die Aufführung besuchen möchten, erhalten nach individueller Terminabsprache in ihrer Schule eine Einführung in das Projekt durch ein musikpädagogisches Team.

Termine

Anmeldung

Anmeldungen für Lehrer bzw. Schülergruppen 

per Mail an: across.the.border@konzerthaus.de

oder schriftlich an:
Konzerthaus Berlin
Bereich Junior/Stichwort „Across the border“
10106 Berlin

East West Street: A song of Good & Evil

Die Juristen Hersch Lauterpacht und Raphael Lemkin setzten sich nach Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs als Berater der Alliierten für die Bestrafung der grausamsten NS-Verbrecher ein. Die Gräueltaten der Nazis sollten nicht ungesühnt bleiben. Ende 1945 begannen die Nürnberger Prozesse, durch die die Grundlagen für ein Völkerstrafrecht im heutigen Sinne entstanden – mit Gesetzen, die Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit oder Genozid ahnden. Ein Meilenstein der Rechtsgeschichte, der sich in dieser Dekade zum 70. Mal jährt. Mit „A Song of Good and Evil“ hat der Menschenrechtsanwalt Philippe Sands aus diesem Anlass ein Buch geschrieben, in dem die Schicksale von Lauterpacht und Lemkin eng verwoben sind mit der Vita der dritten Hauptperson: Der Angeklagte Hans Frank war ehemals Rechtsanwalt Hitlers und später bekannt als „Schlächter von Polen“. Neben ihrer persönlichen Lebensgeschichte und ihrem Beruf verbindet die drei Männer auf eigenartige Weise die Liebe zur gleichen Musik. „A Song of Good and Evil“ eröffnet mit Hilfe von Worten, Bildern und der Musik von Bach, Beethoven, Rachmaninoff, Paul Mizraki und Leonard Cohen den Zugang zu einer bedeutenden rechtlichen Thematik. Sands’ im englischen Original preisgekröntes Buch erscheint dieses Jahr in deutscher Übersetzung.

Termin

13. Februar 2018, 11.00 Uhr

Anmeldung

Anmeldungen für Lehrer bzw. Schülergruppen 

per Mail an: schule-kita@konzerthaus.de

oder schriftlich an:
Konzerthaus Berlin
Bereich Junior/Stichwort „East West Street“
10106 Berlin