"Sounds of Iceland"

Iceland Festival from 14–17 November 2019

Our four-day Icelandic festival offers insights into the multi-faceted music scene of the volcanic island in the far north of Europe. Jazz musicians, multi-instrumentalists, strings performing cover versions of Björk songs, singer-songwriters, an Icelandic Schubert and, of course, our Artist in Residence Víkingur Ólafsson performing a piano concerto written for him by Daníel Bjarnason as soloist with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra will all be featured at Gendarmenmarkt.

Tipp: Icelandic Night

Icelandic musical creativity, nourished by long nights and cold days on the island, is legendary. Our Singer-Songwriter Night offers a range of Icelandic musicians a stage, most notably pianist Ólafur Arnalds. His programme “re:member” features a string quartet and drums, along with two player pianos. His dreamlike sequences have long ceased to be an insider secret!

„The next Björk“

Iceland’s multifaceted music scene has no reservations about breaking barriers or crossing genres. We are especially looking forward to a talent that is already quite well-known beyond Iceland. Multi-instrumentalist and singer Jófríður Ákadóttir from JFDR has found a big fan in avant-garde superstar Björk.

Jazz meets the forces of nature

The quartet ADHD has been part of Iceland’s lively jazz scene since 2007. Inspired by the northern lights and the forces of nature on this Atlantic volcanic island, they create soundscapes that will get you through even the longest, coldest nights – like those faced by the islanders of the far north.

Highlight with our Artist in Residence

At the end of the Iceland Festival, our Artist in Residence Víkingur Ólafsson will perform as soloist with Sinfóníuhljómsveit Íslands, the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. Founded in 1950 as a national orchestra, it is now based in Reykjavík’s architecturally unique Harpa Concert Hall. Composer and conductor Daníel Bjarnason will direct a piano concerto written especially for Víkingur.

Win a trip to Iceland!

We send you on a 3-day trip to Reykjavik.

sign up now

All concerts:

Win a trip to Iceland!

We send you on a 3-day trip to Reykjavik.

Sign up here
  • With kind support from

  • Media Partner

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Redirect

For this event, you will not receive tickets through our webshop. You will therefore be redirected to an external page of the organizer. If you have any not completed bookings on konzerthaus.de, they will be dissolved after 20 minutes.

Cancel

„Sounds of Iceland“

Islandfest vom 14. bis 17.11.2019

Unser viertägiges Islandfest gibt einen kleinen Einblick in die vielfältige Musikszene der Vulkaninsel im hohen Norden Europas. Jazzer, Multi-Instrumentalisten, Streicher mit Cover-Versionen von Björk-Songs, Singer-Songwriter, isländischer Schubert und natürlich unser Artist in Residence Víkingur Ólafsson als Solist mit dem Iceland Symphony Orchester mit einem für ihn geschriebenen Klavierkonzert von Daníel Bjanarson kommen am Gendarmenmarkt zusammen.

Tipp: Icelandic Night

Die musikalische Kreativät der Isländer, genährt von langen Nächten und kalten Tagen auf der Insel, ist legendär. Unsere Singer-Songwriter Nacht bietet einigen von ihnen eine Bühne, allen voran Pianist Ólafur Arnalds mit seinem Programm „re:member“. Neben Streichquartett und Schlagzeug gehören dazu zwei selbstspielende Klaviere. Seine traumartigen Sequenzen sind längst kein Geheimtipp mehr!

„Die neue Björk“

Die vielfältige Musikszene Islands kennt keine Berührungsängste oder Genregrenzen. Auf ein über die Insel hinaus bereits ziemlich bekanntes Talent freuen wir uns besonders: Multi-Instrumentalistin und Sängerin Jófríður Ákadóttir von JFDR hat in Avantgarde-Superstar Björk einen großen Fan.

Jazz meets Naturgewalt

Seit 2007 gehört das Quartett ADHD zu Islands sehr lebendiger Jazzszene. Inspiriert vom Nordlicht und den Naturgewalten der Vulkaninsel im Atlantik schaffen sie Klangwelten, mit denen man wie die Inselbewohner im hohen Norden selbst durch lange, kalte Nächte kommt.

Höhepunkt mit Artist in Residence

Zum Abschluss des Islandfestes steht unser Artist in Residence Víkingur Ólafsson als Solist mit Sinfóníuhljómsveit Íslands, dem Iceland Symphony Orchestra, auf der Bühne. Es wurde 1950 als Nationalorchester gegründet und hat inzwischen in Reykjavíks architektonisch einzigartigem Konzertsaal Harpa seine Heimat. Am Pult steht Komponist und Dirigent Daníel Bjarnasson, von dem ein eigens für Víkingur geschriebenes Klavierkonzert erklingt.

Gewinnen Sie eine Islandreise!

Wir schicken Sie für drei Tage in die isländische Hauptstadt Reykjavik.

jetzt mitmachen

Alle Konzerte:

Gewinnen Sie eine Islandreise!

Wir schicken Sie für drei Tage in die isländische Hauptstadt Reykjavik.

Jetzt anmelden
  • Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

  • Medienpartner

  • ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Weiterleitung

Für diese Veranstaltung erhalten Sie Tickets nicht über unseren Webshop. Sie werden daher auf eine externe Seite des Veranstalters weitergeleitet. Falls Sie Buchungen auf konzerthaus.de nicht abgeschlossen haben, verfallen diese nach 20 Minuten.

Abbrechen