Artist in Residence 2017/18

We are pleased to welcome Cameron Carpenter and The International Touring Organ to Gendarmenmarkt.

When you mention the “O” word, the same stereotype is formed in nearly everyone’s head, Cameron Carpenter says – no matter where in the world one converses about organs and organists. With extraordinary musicality, immeasurable technical skill, a pioneering spirit (also in planning his digital International Touring Organ) and a sense for dramatic performances, the American has overcome any image problems his instrument may have and now enjoys a worldwide following.

We are delighted to welcome Cameron Carpenter to the Konzerthaus as Artist in Residence for the 2017/18 season. He will headline a total of ten concerts, including a programme for families with children aged 6 and older, a Christmas concert and an evening in which he will be joined by his friends, the pianists Lucas & Arthur Jussen and singer Olivia Trummer.

Melos introduces: Cameron Carpenter

See also the interview with Cameron Carpenter on our blog (in German only)

Biography

Cameron Carpenter was born in 1981 in the American state of Pennsylvania. At the tender age of 11, he performed Bach’s “Well-Tempered Clavier” for the first time and enrolled in the American Boychoir School. Cameron studied composition and organ at the North Carolina School of the Arts and transcribed over 100 works for his instrument, including Mahler’s Fifth Symphony. His first own compositions were created during the six years he spent at New York’s Juilliard School. In 2012, he received the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival’s Leonard Bernstein Award, and three years later, the ECHO Klassik as Instrumentalist of the Year. In 2014, the International Touring Organ was constructed according to his own designs. With the digital organ, on which he has been playing almost exclusively since then, he enjoys tremendous independence – both in terms of logistics and music. On international tours, Cameron Carpenter has dispelled any initial skepticism regarding the instrument, and has already performed in many important concert halls.

The Artist in Residence is presented to you by

Artist in Residence 2017/18

Wir heißen Cameron Carpenter und die International Touring Organ am Gendarmenmarkt willkommen

Wenn man das O-Wort ausspricht, entsteht hinter jeder Stirn das gleiche Stereotyp, sagt Cameron Carpenter – ganz egal, wo auf der Welt das Gespräch auf Orgeln und Organisten kommt. Mit außergewöhnlicher Musikalität, nahezu grenzenloser technischer Fertigkeit, Pioniergeist unter anderem bei der Planung seiner digitalen International Touring Organ und viel Sinn für den dramatischen Auftritt überwindet der Amerikaner jedes Imageproblem seines Instruments und kultiviert eine weltweite Anhängerschaft.

Wir freuen uns sehr, ihn in der Saison 2017/18 als Artist in Residence mit zehn Konzerten im Konzerthaus willkommen zu heißen, darunter ein Programm für Familien mit Kindern ab 6, ein Weihnachts-Konzert und ein Abend mit seinen Freunden, den Pianisten Lucas & Arthur Jussen und der Sängerin Olivia Trummer.

Melos stellt vor: Cameron Carpenter

zum Interview mit Cameron Carpenter auf dem Konzerthaus Blog

Biographie

Cameron Carpenter wurde 1981 im US-amerikanischen Bundesstaat Pennsylvania geboren. Mit 11 führte er zum ersten Mal Bachs „Wohltemperiertes Klavier“ auf und wurde Mitglied der American Boychoir School. Cameron studierte an der North Carolina School of the Arts Komposition und Orgel und transkribierte über 100 Werke für sein Instrument, darunter Mahlers 5. Sinfonie. Erste eigene Kompositionen entstanden während seiner sechs Jahre an der New Yorker Juilliard School. 2012 erhielt er den Leonard Bernstein Award des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, drei Jahre später den ECHO Klassik als Instrumentalist des Jahres. 2014 ließ er nach eigenen Plänen die International Touring Organ konstruieren. Mit der digitalen Orgel, auf der er seitdem fast ausschließlich spielt, genießt er logistisch und musikalisch enorme Unabhängigkeit. Auf weltweiten Tourneen hat Cameron Carpenter anfänglich Skepsis gegenüber dem Instrument rasch zerstreut und es bereits in vielen wichtigen Konzertsälen erklingen lassen.

Den Artist in Residence präsentiert