Brahms-Marathon

An entire Sunday with Brahms on 22 April

An entire day in the Konzerthaus with Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) – this solitary, highly self-critical composer, who was born in Hamburg and died in Vienna, had an extremely close friendship with Robert Schumann and his wife, Clara. Due to his four symphonies, he was widely celebrated as Beethoven’s successor. His “German Requiem” moved Clara and many others to tears and his “Hungarian Dances” became a world hit. Our sixth marathon will focus on the “Hungarian” Brahms and some of his finest works of chamber music.

Hungarian Brahms

Violin virtuosos and the cimbalom, a large box zither, are integral parts of traditional Hungarian music, which captured Johannes Brahms’ interest on a tour with violinist Eduard Reményi. Sarasate and Liszt had experienced a similar story. Iván Fischer and the Konzerthausorchester perform rousing pieces by the three composers – including, of course, the “Hungarian Dances” by Brahms and his wonderful first piano quartet with the Hungarian “Rondo alla Zingarese”.

First time Brahms

Johannes Brahms loved the wild and melancholy dances that were played on violin across Hungary in his day. Our principal conductor Iván Fischer himself comes from Hungary. Together with the Konzerthausorchester, he will allow you to experience what various composers have produced from this form of music. The Beethoven Hall will also be the setting for an “all-age musical playroom” with instruments that anyone can try out.

360° Brahms

Some of the Romantic period’s most beautiful works of chamber music were written by Johannes Brahms. Listen to his Piano Quartet No. 1, Clarinet Quintet or the Love Song Waltzes in a new and personal way when you sit between the performing musicians.

Participating artists include the GrauSchumacher Piano Duo, Christian Tetzlaff, Kirill Gerstein, the Horenstein Ensemble and the Rundfunkchor Berlin.

Special 360° package offer: the four 360° concerts for 50 euros instead of 70. The package can be booked via the Ticket Hotline or at the box office.

Programmbroschüre

Das gesamte Programm zum Brahms-Marathon auf einen Blick

Download (PDF)
  • Premiumpartner

  • Präsentiert von ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Brahms-Marathon

Ein Sonntag mit Brahms am 22. April 2018

Ein ganzer Tag im Konzerthaus mit Johannes Brahms (1833 –1897) – diesem eigenbrötlerischen, Wien verfallenen, in höchstem Maß selbstkritischen Hamburger, den mit Robert Schumann und dessen Frau Clara eine enge Freundschaft verband. Für seine vier Sinfonien wurde er als Beethovens Nachfolger gefeiert, sein „Deutsches Requiem“ rührte Clara wie viele andere zu Tränen und seine „Ungarischen Tänze“ wurden ein Welthit. Bei unserem sechsten Marathon stehen der „ungarische“ Brahms und einige seiner schönsten Kammermusik-Werke im Zentrum.

Ungarischer Brahms

Violinvirtuosen und die große Kastenzither, das Cimbalon, prägen traditionelle ungarische Musik, für die Johannes Brahms auf einer Tournee mit dem Geiger Eduard Reményi Feuer fing. So erging es auch Sarasate und Liszt. Iván Fischer und das Konzerthausorchester interpretieren mitreißende Stücke der drei Komponisten – darunter natürlich „Ungarische Tänze“ von Brahms sowie dessen wunderbares erstes Klavierquartett mit dem ungarischen „Rondo alla Zingarese“.

Erster Brahms

Johannes Brahms liebte die wilden oder melancholischen Tänze, die man zu seiner Zeit überall in Ungarn auf der Geige spielte. Chefdirigent Iván Fischer kommt selbst von dort und stellt Euch mit dem Konzerthausorchester vor, was verschiedene Komponisten aus dieser Musik gemacht haben. Im Beethoven-Saal wartet außerdem ein „Musik-Spiel-Zimmer für Groß und Klein“ mit Instrumenten zum Ausprobieren auf Euch.

360° Brahms

Einige der schönsten Kammermusikwerke der Romantik stammen von Johannes Brahms. Hören Sie das Klavierquartett Nr. 1, das Klarinettenquintett oder den Liebesliederwalzer neu und ungewohnt nah, wenn Sie rund um die ausführenden Musiker sitzen.
Mit dabei sind das GrauSchumacher Piano Duo, Christian Tetzlaff, Kirill Gerstein, das Horenstein Ensemble und der Rundfunkchor Berlin.

Im 360°-Paket erleben Sie die vier 360°-Konzerte für 50 statt 70 Euro. Buchbar über Tickethotline und Besucherservice.

Programmbroschüre

Das gesamte Programm zum Brahms-Marathon auf einen Blick

Download (PDF)
  • Premiumpartner

  • Präsentiert von ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀